There’s a new virus going around the match.com circuit, but you’d really have to be an idiotic horndog to pick it up.
(You, my darling boys, may be horndogs, but you’re certainly not idiots.)
According to this article I saw on Twitter today, there are some people sending out look-alike match.com emails with links to a sexy video for you to see… but OH! You need to download a special video player. Won’t you install this?
Here’s what this looks like, in case you’re curious:

And here’s what you get when you click the link:

Beware, geek friends. Scammers are everywhere. Besides, you want a nice wholesome geek girl, not one who would send her sexy videos all over the intarwebs.
Practice Safe Surf, Geek Friends.







I just make it my rule of thumb a) Don’t use Internet Explorer for anything, and b) if it requires a plugin, make sure I can verify the source & type of plugin. It’s now become such an issue that if it doesn’t run on Flash, WMP, or VLC video plugin, it doesn’t get viewed on my computer while booted into Windows. Thankfully, I’m in Ubuntu most of the time on my personal desktop PC, and this stuff doesn’t really work there.
The Raging Tech´s last blog post..Online Music Stores Amazon & Wal-Mart follow Suit After Apple in Pricing Schemes
Looking for sex does not necessarily equal looking for love. Anyone who falls for this gets what they deserve.
I love the reference and picture!
Nicholas´s last blog post..Top 5 Ways to Conquer Your DM Block
@Nicholas – C’mon, I wouldn’t be a geek’s dream girl if I didn’t make those kind of references.
The problem isn’t only with plug-ins, codecs and players. You all need to realize that there are inherent flaws with certain file formats….
I can send anyone here a word document that will give me full control of your computer…if you’re stupid enough to allow the macros to run.
The wmf format is a metafile that was created back in the Windows 3.11 days that didn’t have to worry about the problems of today.
So, what I really wanted to say here was this…if you can’t verify the publisher and source of the file, don’t use it, if you do…well you deserve the virus.
anubisascends´s last blog post..Re: Map buider!